Wrong Road to Right Path

Some people come into college knowing exactly what they want do for the rest of their lives, and then there are people like me that change their major five times before they realize what they have a passion for. I never would have thought that I would be majoring in public relations, but now I can’t imagine my life without it.

This time last year I was on track to get a degree in Elementary teaching. I was at a loss because teaching was no longer an interest of mine. Then, I started doing research on the other programs that the University of Central Arkansas has to offer. When I came across the public relations program, it caught my interest. I looked at all the classes that I would need to complete the program, and I became instantly attracted.

I thought back to the people that I knew that was majoring in public relations, and asked them their opinion about public relations. Every person I asked had all positive things to say about the classes that you have to take. They told me that to succeed in public relations that I would need to like to write because I will write a majority of the time, which made me nervous and excited at the same time. I haven’t had to do much writing in the courses that I’ve taken in college, but writing has always been my favorite subject in school.

In two weeks I will have completed my first year in public relations. I’ve enjoyed every class that I’ve taken since being a PR major, which makes me much more eager to go to class.

It’s strange how much majoring in public relations has changed me. I’m excited for my future, and exploring the career that I could have. I’ve been involved in Public Relations Student Society of America during this semester, and had the opportunity to go on a PR agency tour in Little Rock. I had no clue that I would enjoy this trip as much as I did, and it opened my mind to the possibility of working in a PR firm.

 

CbmbCa1UEAQA0I8
Picture from the PR agency tour

 

 

12974385_1184223691608562_2567919242572747372_n
Picture of PRSSA members from the last meeting

 

My goal is to find an internship over the summer to gain more experience within the field. I’m hoping that an internship will give me the insight as to what exactly I want to do after graduation.

One of my favorite things about public relations is how broad the degree is. I’m excited to get into the remaining courses this next year, and receive more skills that I can later use in my career.

Wish me luck!

Peace, Love and PR 😉

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

